Friday 17 September to Sunday 19 September 2021

English Music Weekend at Hellens, Much Marcle, nr Ledbury HR8 2LY

We are delighted, at last, to be able to announce our first live concerts since March 2020. These are a series of three providing a feast of English Music to be given at Hellens over the weekend of 17 – 19 September 2021. These concerts will celebrate the works of 20th century and contemporary English composers and will feature leading soloists and chamber musicians: Mark Bebbington (piano), the Coull Quartet, Peter Cigleris (clarinet) and Richard Jenkinson (cello), who have all championed this repertoire over their distinguished careers.


Friday 17 September at 7.30pm

Mark Bebbington (piano)
Alwyn Sonata alla Toccata
Leighton Sonatina No 2
Vaughan Williams The Lake in the Mountains
Matthew-Walker Piano Sonata No 3 ‘Hamlet’
A Bad Night in Los Angeles
Delius On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring (piano duet with Irene Loh)
Three Piano Preludes
Ireland Sarnia: An Island Sequence

Saturday 18 September at 7.30pm

Coull Quartet

with Mark Bebbington (piano)

Britten Three Divertimenti for String Quartet
Ian Venables Piano Quintet Op 27
Elgar Piano Quintet in A minor Op 84

Sunday 19 September at 4.00pm

Peter Cigleris (clarinet)
Richard Jenkinson (cello)
Mark Bebbington (piano)

Finzi Five Bagatelles
Vaughan Williams Six Studies in English Folksong
Derek Smith Trio ‘Deadly Sins’ (première)
Delius Romance
Ireland Fantasy Sonata
Peter Wishart Trio

Tickets are £16 per concert (discounted ticket at £42 for all three concerts) and are on sale via the Hellens website at (tel: 01531 660504) and from The Courtyard, Hereford (tel: 01432 340555)

Concerts supported by:

The GEMMA Classical Music Trust Regd Charity No. 1121090

The John Ireland Charitable Trust Regd Charity No. 255004

The Delius Trust Regd Charity No. 207324